×

Status message

This proposal has been approved and the Eclipse openK platform project has been created.

openK platform

Basics
This proposal is in the Project Proposal Phase (as defined in the Eclipse Development Process) and is written to declare its intent and scope. We solicit additional participation and input from the community. Please login and add your feedback in the comments section.
Parent Project: 
Background: 

This project is responsible for the architecture and the implementation of the openKONSEQUENZ Working Group.

In 2014 a group of German Distribution System Operator (DSO) started an Eclipse Working Group (https://wiki.eclipse.org/OpenKONSEQUENZ_-_deutsch). The intention of the group is to develop open source software for system operators which matches the needs of power networks in the 21st century. The main focus is to develop a modular and vendor independent IT-system which is open to different system integrators and 3rd party module provider. Further aspects are the improvement of IT-security and user experience and the reduction of development cycles and costs.

Utilities use IT‐systems for the operation of energy and water grids; this especially includes SCADA systems, GIS and other systems for documentation of resources and support of maintenance tasks. The systems have to conform to the requirements of “critical infrastructure”. These software‐systems will furthermore be called “Energy and Water Infrastructure Software (EWIS)” and are the central focus for activities in the openKONSEQUENZ® Working Group (WG). 

Scope: 

The target of the openK Platform is to consolidate Energy and Water Infrastructure Software (EWIS) onto a shared technical platform, to define open interfaces and reduce or optimize interfaces where applicable. The changing energy politics creates a number of new requirements concerning the flexibility, availability, security and performance, which have to be met by the technical platform.

Description: 

The project starts with the module Feed-In Management ("Last- und Einspeisemanagement") based on the German Electricity Feed-In Act. The future demand for electric energy is to be adapted to the supply and availability of renewable energy. Based on specific rules and parameters the Feed-In Management calculates a bluepint for electric switching stations and power plants based on renewable energy. Implementing the calculation input data is needed from electric networks, switching stations, power plants, electric demands and feed-in capabilities.

Furthermore the project designs an IT-architecture based on the architecture draft of the DSO working group. The IT-architecture is to comply to all functional and non-functional requirements of the Feed-In Management and will support the development of further modules in the near future. The IT-architecture is based on software provided by other open source projects (e.g. application server, integration bus solution and database). The major focus of the IT-architecture is to integrate loosely coupled modules via standardized APIs.

Why Here?: 

An Eclipse project will garantee an open source software of quality which complies to well recognized IT-standards. Furthermore it will be open to future projects and add-ons by different vendors.
 

Project Scheduling: 

The first module will be implemented in 2015.

Future Work: 

In 2015 openKONSEQUENZ will organise workshops and meetings to identify further modules, which will be implemented on the IT-architecture developed in this project.

People
Project Leads: 
Committers: 
Jan Krueger
Interested Parties: 

Mr. Peter Herdt, peter.herdt@main-donau-netz.de, MDN Main-Donau Netzgesellschaft mbH

Mr. Thomas Legner, thomas.legner@main-donau-netz.de, MDN Main-Donau Netzgesellschaft mbH

Mr. Frank Rose, frank.rose@netrion.de, NETRION GmbH

Mr. Gerhard Regenbogen, gerhard.regenbogen@e-netz-suedhessen.de, e-netz Südhessen GmbH & Co. KG

Mr. Michael Mueller, michael.mueller@netz-leipzig.de, Netz Leipzig GmbH

Mr. Hans-Peter Hamann, hans-peter.hamann@btc-ag.com, BTC AG

Mr. Matthias Rohr, matthias.rohr@btc-ag.com, BTC AG

Mr. Ralph Mueller, ralph.mueller@eclipse.org, Eclipse

Source Code
Source Repository Type: